Release guide
Game Releases 2026
The useful 2026 co-op releases are the ones whose group conditions you can verify before inviting anyone. For a chaotic four-person night, start with Friendly Steps; for a quiet pair, Together in Forgotten Lands is the clearest fit; and Sheep Move Together is the only pick below whose Steam page currently shows a listed dollar price.

What should a group check before choosing a 2026 release?
Check the release date, the co-op condition, and the group shape before you treat a game as a plan. A game marked “co-op” may be strictly two-player, support online play only in beta, or say nothing about cross-play. The chooser below keeps those unknowns visible instead of converting them into guesses.
Which verified 2026 releases fit different co-op groups?
These four releases answer different group problems rather than competing for one vague “best” slot. The release and feature claims in each row link to the relevant Steam store page or official Steam announcement.
| Game | Verified release / platform | Co-op and cross-play | Price | Best group situation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Friendly Steps | Released September 3, 2026 on Steam. | The developer says solo is possible and that players can invite up to three friends; proximity chat is named. Cross-play is not stated in the announcement. | Not stated in the cited announcement. | A group of up to four that wants difficult coordination and does not mind repeated falls. |
| Sheep Move Together | Released July 17, 2026 on Steam. | The Steam page lists online co-op and describes a one-to-four-player co-op exploration game. Cross-play is not stated on that page. | Steam lists US$4.99 when checked for this guide. | A small group wanting exploration and gathering rather than a fixed puzzle pair. |
| Together in Forgotten Lands | Released August 7, 2026 on Steam. | The official announcement calls it strictly two-player and says there is no solo mode or AI companion. Cross-play is not stated in that announcement. | Not stated in the cited announcement. | Exactly two people ready to communicate through a puzzle campaign. |
| Rocoumie and Bouquet | Released July 17, 2026 on Steam. | The developer says local co-op supports up to four players and online co-op is in beta. Cross-play is not stated in the announcement. | Not stated in the cited announcement. | A mixed-skill group that wants a gentler action-puzzle session. |
Which release works for a four-person friendslop-style night?
Friendly Steps is the most direct four-person choice in this shortlist because its developer explicitly invites up to three friends and names proximity chat. That does not establish cross-play, so every player should check their platform before buying; “online co-op” and “cross-play” are not interchangeable claims.
Which 2026 release is best for two people who want a finish line?
Together in Forgotten Lands is the clearest two-person commitment because the developer describes it as strictly two-player with no solo shortcut. That limitation is the useful information: do not put it on a flexible group-night list when attendance may change.
What is the practical release-date gap that broad recommendation lists miss?
A release list becomes more useful when it keeps unsupported details blank instead of smoothing them over. The four official sources above confirm different things: player structure, online status, release timing, or a listed price. None gives this guide a basis to promise cross-play, so the chooser labels it “not stated” rather than pretending every co-op release can solve a mixed-platform plan.
What should you do before your group buys?
Choose the row that matches your group shape, then open the linked official page together and verify the current platform and price for every player. Release dates are historical facts; store availability, regional prices, and cross-play support can change after publication.